Monday, June 29, 2015

Gone Again is an album by Patti Smith, released June 18, 1996 on Arista Records. The production of the record was preceded by the deaths of many of Smith's close friends and peers, including her husband Fred "Sonic" Smith, her brother Todd, Robert Mapplethorpe, Richard Sohl and Kurt Cobain, with whom Smith had sympathized. In addition to this, Gone Again also features the last studio performance of Jeff Buckley released before his death less than a year later.

May 13, 1999 Rolling Stone magazine placed the album on its list of "The Essential Recordings of the '90s".

Track listing

Gone Again



Gone Again


  • Patti Smith â€" vocals, guitar
  • Lenny Kaye â€" guitar, production
  • Luis Resto â€" keyboards
  • Jay Dee Daugherty â€" drums
  • Tony Shanahan â€" bass


  • Oliver Ray â€" guitar, whistle, photography, feedback
  • Tom Verlaine â€" guitar

Additional Personnel

  • Angela Skouras â€" design
  • Annie Leibovitz â€" photography
  • Brian Sperber â€" guitar, engineer
  • César Díaz â€" guitar
  • Eileen Ivers â€" fiddle
  • Greg Calbi â€" mastering
  • Hearn Gadbois â€" percussion
  • Jane Scarpantoni â€" cello
  • Jeff Buckley â€" vocals
  • John Angello â€" mixing
  • John Cale â€" organ
  • Kimberly Smith â€" mandolin
  • Malcolm Burn â€" production, engineering, dulcimer, guitar
  • Patrick McCarthy â€" mixing
  • Rick Kiernan â€" saw
  • Roy Cicala â€" mixing
  • Whit Smith â€" guitar


Gone Again

Release history

Gone Again


External links

Gone Again
  • Gone Again at AllMusic
  • Gone Again audio and video at Arista Records

Gone Again
Sponsored Links