Friday, May 15, 2015

The bibliography of William Faulkner, an American writer, includes 19 novels, 125 short stories (not including stories that appear exclusively in novels), 20 screenplays (including uncredited rewrites), one play, six collections of poetry as well as assorted letters and essays.

William Faulkner made his debut as a published writer at the age of 21 with the poem "L'Après-midi d'un Faune", which appeared in The New Republic on August 6, 1919. Two more poems, "Cathay" and "Sapphics" and a short story, "Landing in Luck", were published in Mississippian in November 1919.

Faulkner's first novel, Soldiers' Pay, was published in 1926 and his 19th and final, The Reivers, in 1962, the year he died. Numerous works have been published posthumously.



Library of America editions

To date, Library of America has published all of Faulkner's novels in five volumes, containing restored authoritative texts.

  • Novels 1926â€"1929, containing Soldiers' Pay, Mosquitoes, Flags in the Dust, The Sound and the Fury (ISBN 978-1931082891, 1170 pages, published April 6, 2006)
  • Novels 1930â€"1935, containing As I Lay Dying, Sanctuary, Light in August, Pylon (ISBN 978-0940450264, 1056 pages, published December 1, 1985)
  • Novels 1936â€"1940, containing Absalom, Absalom!, The Unvanquished, If I Forget Thee, Jerusalem, The Hamlet (ISBN 978-0940450554, 1148 pages, published June 1, 1990)
  • Novels 1942â€"1954, containing Go Down, Moses, Intruder in the Dust, Requiem for a Nun, A Fable (ISBN 978-0940450851, 1110 pages, published October 1, 1994)
  • Novels 1957â€"1962, containing The Town, The Mansion, The Reivers (ISBN 978-1883011697, 1020 pages, published October 1, 1999)

Short stories

See also: Collected Stories of William Faulkner


  • Marionettes (one-act play, first produced at the University of Mississippi on March 4, 1921)
  • Requiem for a Nun




Poetry collections

  • Vision in Spring (1921)
  • The Marble Faun (1924)
  • This Earth, a Poem (1932)
  • A Green Bough (1933)
  • Mississippi Poems (1979)
  • Helen, a Courtship and Mississippi Poems (1981)



  • Kirk, Robert W.; Klotz, Marvin (1965). Faulkner's People: A complete guide and index to the characters and fiction of William Faulkner. Los Angeles: University of California Press. 

Sponsored Links