Thursday, July 2, 2015

Meltdown is an annual festival, held in London, featuring a mix of music, art, performance and film. Meltdown is held in June at Southbank Centre, the arts complex covering 21 acres (85,000 m2) and including the Royal Festival Hall, the Queen Elizabeth Hall and The Hayward. Each year the festival chooses an established music artist or act as director of the event and they pick the performers of their choosing. Previous Meltdown directors include: Elvis Costello, David Bowie, Patti Smith, Lee Scratch Perry, Morrissey, Jarvis Cocker, Nick Cave, Scott Walker, John Peel and Ornette Coleman. The festival has been held annually since 1993, except in 2006 when the Royal Festival Hall was closed for refurbishment. The guest director for the 2010 festival was renowned rock and folk musician Richard Thompson. For the 2011 festival, Ray Davies of The Kinks was the guest curator. For 2013, it was Yoko Ono. For 2014, it was James Lavelle. Musician and artist David Byrne is set to curate the 2015 meltdown festival.

Previous line-ups

External links

Meltdown (festival)
  • Meltdown page at the official Southbank Centre site

Meltdown (festival)
Sponsored Links